Fun Fit 5K Plus

Having fun, getting fit, loving life

Sing Me Along

on May 7, 2012

Today I accomplished a personal goal!
Well first to get up and walk and second to walk farther than I have lately. (3- 3.6)

I walked 4 miles in just over an hour. (About a 16 minute mile).
I feel pretty good about that!

Let’s start at the beginning. I woke up before my alarm at 5 am (yes I said 5).
I was smiling, almost laughing even.
I don’t remember my dream, but it must have been hilarious!
I didn’t have a problem jumping out of bed to see how wet it was.
It looks wet and its raining.
I decide to go walking anyway.

Yolanda was out of town so I was on my own. Not a big deal.
I get dressed and grab my i-Pod.
It’s gray and lightly raining but it doesn’t dampen my spirit.
I put my beats by Dre (great headphones!) on and head out.

Music fills my world.
Just like the movies, I have a soundtrack. I move to the beat of the drum. At times the clapping in songs are cheers encouraging me.
“Move faster. Keep going. You’ve got it!”

Half way through I look at my stats on “map my walk”- 2 miles at 32 minutes! I give a cheer-“Yea!”
This pushes me further because I know I will be walking 4miles -a good distance. After having an off week, this is a great start for the week ahead.

My hip starts hurting and my head is wet not from rain but sweat. I smiles as Rihanna sings me along.
“We found love in a hopeless place…”
I think of my reward at home, an ice coffee and keep going.

The rhythm and my pace are in time.
Don’t stop. Don’t slow.
Pain is not always bad.
Fight. Keep your posture strong.
“I got a feeling that tonight’s gonna be a good night…”the Black Eyed Peas sing me forward.
I did it – 4 miles.

I encourage you to find your rhythm while you walk or run. Find those sings that move you along.

Here are some of my faves:
In the Dark. By Dev
Stereo Hearts. By Gym Class Heros
Moves Like Jagger. By Maroon 5
Without You. By David Guetta/Usher
We Found Love. By Rihanna
Good Feeling. By Flo Rida
Walk. By Foo Fighters
Heartbeat. By Thr Fray
We Are Young. By Fun
Starships. By Nicki Minaj

Leave a Reply

