Fun Fit 5K Plus

Having fun, getting fit, loving life

Another Great Walk

on May 15, 2012

It was another one of those two snooze button mornings.
As I have said before, getting up early is not my forte.
Motivating myself to walk fast, to challenge myself, isn’t easy when I feel sooo tired. (I can be a little dramatic at times.)

I forgot my Beats (Dr Dre if you are out there- I absolutely love these headphones!! I would do an ad anytime and I would not turn down a free set.)
So, I was using my i-phone to play my tunes.
(Apple- I absolutely love my phone and would do an ad anytime. Again, I would not turn down a new phone.)

I was kicking my own a** today. Walking faster than last week. Determined to do better!
I listened to my normal fast paced songs. Some are rock and some pop.
I had the volume on “blast.”

As I am rounding a corner, I see an older woman walking.
Is it ageist that I immediately turn my music down so as not to offend her?
Thinking that it may be too harsh.
Then the other, maybe more ageist, thought popped into my mind.
(Don’t hate me.)
“She probably can’t hear it anyway.”
Uhhh. Yes I heard myself and immediately self corrected my ignorance. I am sure she has great hearing.

Then as I approached, I said “Hello” very cheerfully. She acted as though I was disrupting her walk and kind of coldly says, “hello.” (No smile.)
Ok so not everyone likes to be talked to by strangers.
Another ageist thought, “I thought older people liked younger people to pay respect?”

So as I am listening to my music and walking I hear some old faves by Weezer.
See if you remember these:
“Say It Ain’t So”
“Buddy Holly”
And of course, my favorite,
“Undone (The Sweater Song)”

If you can sing along we are probably the same age.
“If you want to destroy my sweater,
(whoaohoh)
Pull this thread as I walk away
(as I walk away),
Watch me unravel,
I’ll soon be naked
Lying on the floor
Lying on the floor
I’ve come undone…”

I digress but I LOVE Weezer!

Anyway, I did it. I pushed myself to beat my old time and walk further.
I encourage you to make yourself get out there!
Get out those old tunes that make you smile and go for it.
Walk further or faster or both!
Out of bed, off the couch, out of the car, into the world.

Leave a Reply

