Fun Fit 5K Plus

Having fun, getting fit, loving life

The Skinny On Losing Weight Quickly

on May 20, 2012

I had a dream last night that my friends noticed these other people around me that had lost weight, but I was the same. It was really a nightmare.
Depressed and scared, I woke with a feeling of dread.
Would I ever get to the weight I feel satisfied with?

You see all of these quick fixes.
“Lose 10 pounds in a week!”
“Drop 2 dresses sizes in 2days!”
“Lose all your fat by taking this magic pill!”

Right. As if that could be healthy!

There is an article in this months
“Health” magazine about a lady who lost 95 pounds in 3 years.
She slowly adjusted her eating habits and started working out 3 times a week, 20 minutes each time.
That’s all that it took for her to get started and it took 3 years.
She was determined and realistic.

I put these restraints on myself- I need to work out hard before swim suit season. I need to lose x number of pounds in 2 weeks.
Yes I would look better now, but it isn’t healthy and I can’t keep up that pace of working out to keep it off.

Several years ago my husband and I completed P-90X. Successfully, I might add. But now here I am again. Trying to shed pesky pounds again!
I could not keep up or increase that pace. 6-7 days a week. Hour to hour and a half work outs. Hard work outs.

So now I struggle, as most do, in finding the ultimate balance. The proper pace. The one that may take a little longer but promises longevity in health.

One day at a time, right?!
Right!!
I can do it!

My answer to “can you lose weight quickly?” is yes. Will I look good? Maybe. Is it the healthiest way? No.
Will it stay off? Most likely the answer is no. So …I am going to go the distance.
Work out 3-4 days a week and watch what I eat but not go crazy.
(I must have some bread and some ice cream.)

I must be realistic and understanding as well as not giving in to every temptation.
I am determined to get there, no matter how long it takes.

Leave a Reply

