Fun Fit 5K Plus

Having fun, getting fit, loving life

Watermelon Salad?

on July 25, 2012

As I was enjoying my Strawberry Salad from Panera Bread today, I thought I couldn’t find a salad I like more.
Then I read about a watermelon salad!

Health magazine tweeted the following recipe worth trying out.
(I love this magazine).
This recipe looks fantastic!
Especially on such a hot summer day.

20120725-140837.jpg

Grilled Watermelon, Mint, and Feta Salad

Prep Time: 15 Cook Time: 10Yield: Makes 6 servings (serving size: 1 1/3 cups salad)
Good to Know
This fresh, mouth-watering summer salad takes seconds to prepare, and has only 122 calories per serving.

Ingredients
1 small watermelon (about 6 pounds), cut into 1-inch-thick rounds (lay melon on its side, and cut through rind and flesh with a sharp knife)
1/2 cup small mint leaves, torn
2 ounces feta cheese, crumbled into large chunks
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
Preparation
1. Heat a grill or grill pan over high heat until very hot. Two at a time, grill watermelon rounds, turning once, until charred (about 2-3 minutes per side). Transfer watermelon to a cutting board and remove rind; cut rounds into wedges.

2. Arrange watermelon on a serving platter; sprinkle with mint and feta. Drizzle with olive oil and vinegar, then sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Nutrition Information
Calories per serving122
Fat per serving4.7
Saturated fat per serving1.8
Monounsaturated fat per serving2.2
Polyunsaturated fat per serving0.4
Protein per serving3
Carbohydrates per serving19
Fiber per serving1.5
Cholesterol per serving8
Iron per serving2
Sodium per serving208

5 responses to “Watermelon Salad?

  1. ctminnesota says:

    Hey – just found your blog. Awesome! Did you ever try this watermelon salad? I’m curious if you liked it. Sounds, well, interesting. Not a combo I’d put together, but the sweet & salty is typically a winner in my book. Let us know if you liked it.

    • yomicfit says:

      Hi. Thanks for taking time to read and comment!
      I have it on my menu to try next week.
      (fingers crossed)
      I will definitely let you know!!
      (either way)

      I am excited to check out your blog!
      I love Jillian and am switching between her 30 day shred and Yoga Booty Ballet workouts.

      • ctminnesota says:

        Shred is FANTASTIC! It helped to completely shape my body and lose the last 10 pounds (I dropped 60# between 2009-2010). Jillian is incredible. She gets on your nerves sometimes (I get tired of being yelled at – ha!), but there is no one more effective in my opinion.

        Can’t wait to hear how you liked the salad.

      • yomicfit says:

        My gosh! Congrats!
        I want to lose around 30 and hope I can keep it going!
        You are doing very well!!!

      • yomicfit says:

        Check out my post on the watermelon salad.
        It was ok not great but I kind of screwed it up. 😦

Leave a Reply

