Fun Fit 5K Plus

Having fun, getting fit, loving life

The Olympian In Me

on July 30, 2012

>;20120730-135139.jpg
Jordyn Wieber; US Woman’s Gymnast Extraordinaire

Like so many others, I have been glued to the Olympics this year.

I am amazed and fascinated by the strength and power in these athletes.

They are at the height of their fitness, abs and all.

Last night I had a dream that I had a six pack.

I woke up disheartened to find my six pack covered by the mess left from too many donuts and soda.

Ah to have been born an athlete.

But wait! I do have that drive to succeed in my goals and I know I can become fit again!

I can either let these chiseled bodied ladies and gentlemen depress me or enlighten me.

Strengthen that voice within me that says, “Come on! Get up! Get moving!” or sit on the couch with a bag of Doritos, making the situation worse.

While I am honestly a bit jealous, I am in awe of the time and dedication our Olympians have committed to achieve their goals.

And while I realize I don’t have that natural ability to ever be able to compete in well…any athletic competition, I do have a motive (that I believe God put in me) to be the best “me” possible.

I am finishing week two of my goals and feel pretty good.

I am not seeing astonishing results and yet I am not frustrated by that.

Day-by-day, workout-by-workout.

I can do it!

Thank you team USA for not giving up through all of those complications and injuries and problems that come up.

The stories told about struggles and hardships remind me that I will have mine too.

Sometimes it feels as if you have to fight against something bigger than you.

It may feel impossible yet you find this determination from deep down to keep going.

To never give up.

There is an Olympian in me.

I may never look like the most fit athlete, but I will continue to persevere to win my “gold”.

My goal is within reach.

I will become the healthy and fit me that I deserve to be.

<

7 responses to “The Olympian In Me

  1. Another great post! I don’t know if you get into the awards on WordPress or not, but I nominated your blog for an award– More info can be found here: http://fictionalmachines.wordpress.com/2012/07/30/versatile-blogger-award-nomination/

    • yomicfit says:

      Thank you so much!
      I am still so new at blogging.
      This is a way to clean the writing cobwebs as I want to become a published author.
      I will pass this along as well.

  2. mentalnotes1 says:

    THAT LITTLE GIRL IS AWSOME,,,I WATCHED HER IN AWE, HER BODY WAS LIKE ART,,,,JUST AWSOME!

  3. mentalnotes1 says:

    OH AND KEEP PUSHING AND I WILL PUSH WITH YOU, HAVE A FABULOUS DAY,,,#PUSHPUSH AND PUSHSOMEMORE!

  4. Stronglikemycoffee says:

    Progress is progress and no matter how long it will take, the results of your efforts will show! Good luck with your goal, I agree about the gymnasts abs – amazing 🙂

Leave a Reply

