Fun Fit 5K Plus

Having fun, getting fit, loving life

Ms. Blogging Etiquette

on September 5, 2012

20120905-090340.jpg

Maybe there is a Ms. Blog Etiquette,
But she has yet to approach me with the official blogging rules.

I have been blogging for about 5 months now,
Trying to fulfill that insatiable desire to put words on a page.

My question for myself (and you),
“Am I
(are you)
Living up to the unspoken blogging communities expectations?”

This question brought up the fact that there must be some etiquette for readers and writers.

Readers:

-1. Do you even read the blog?!
Please don’t randomly “like” a page without even skimming the material.

It feels good to get those likes,
But then I am left wondering,
“Wait. Did they read it?”

I must confess,
I have been guilty of quickly liking some posts without fully reading.
(gasp)
Please forgive me.
I an much more apt to reading the whole content now that I have been blogging for a little while.

2. Do you comment on the pages you read?
Please take a little time to at least,
once in a while,
place a thoughtful sentiment on the blogs you follow.

I mean I try so hard to do this.
Even if it’s a “wow” or “great blog”,
Please note –
I just had to reply because I felt something from what you wrote!

I appreciate all the comments I receive as they are so often encouraging words.

-3. Do you pass on those great posts?
Please forward posts that astound you,
Make you want to read more or
you just can’t stop thinking about.

Ugh.
Guilty.
I need to pass on more of those posts to you and blogs that I follow.
I will resolutely do this more in the future.
(Starting tomorrow.)

Writers:

1. Are you aware of how many words you have written?
Please consider your words wisely.
It may or may not be necessary to write a hundred word post.

Ok so I tend to write shorter posts and was wondering if there is some kind of guideline.
Are “professional bloggers” considered so because they write a certain number of words?
Most blogs I connect with tend to be short or at least a great story.
But there are some blogs that intimidate me just because of the length of their posts.

Some have to be longer because of the details and pictures and beautifully laid out thoughts.

What do you prefer or does it matter?

2. Do you share personal experiences and matters from your heart?
Please add personal stories and matters into posts to help connect you to the reader.

I love to read about you and your lives!
I try to include my stories (including the embarrassing ones ),
So that you get a small glimpse of who I am.
Thank you for all you share!

I may just be speaking for myself,
But those moments you share make me laugh and cry and feel good.

-3. Do you edit?
Please edit all posts so that the content is readable.

I try!
I really try.
I am not always great at it and
I am sure I have a million grammatical errors.

I try to sift through the mindless ramble and considerate thoughts.
Which to toss,
which to keep?

I hope I have been a blogger with etiquette thus far.
I will continue to share my stories and feelings and books and life.

Hopefully you like what you read.
Hopefully you read what you “like.”

12 responses to “Ms. Blogging Etiquette

  1. Ashley says:

    I wish everybody had this sense of etiquette. I don’t “like” posts that I didn’t actually read or enjoy. I’d like to think that each of my “likes” are sincere, so I return the favor. I don’t always comment, often because I can’t think of anything else to add to the post.

    As far as writing? My posts vary in length. I think that shorter paragraphs help readers, whereas big blocks of text intimidate them and often people won’t bother reading. (We have such short attention spans these days, don’t we?) Most of my posts have personal anecdotes, because well, that’s what I write about. And editing? I read my posts through about a half dozen times before publishing, and then another 2 or 3 times after just to see if I missed something.

    I’ve forwarded very few posts, but I that’s a great idea. After all, blogging isn’t a solitary thing – it’s social!

    • yomicfit says:

      I agree.
      I can see that you are a sincere reader!
      You have commented several times on my posts.
      Thank you!
      I feel like a voice for so many out there so I hope what I speak opens eyes but I humbly say
      “I am human and exhibit so many flaws.”
      This post was really advice to myself.
      🙂
      Thank you so much for commenting!!

  2. neatsmart says:

    This was great and thought provoking. I just started blogging 2 months ago although I’ve been reading other blogs for years. I have the same questions as you and yet I don’t always follow the rules I wish other people did. Your post has inspired me, though, to share my thoughts with the writers of blogs I read so that they know people are really reading and digesting. Thanks for sharing this.

    • yomicfit says:

      Thank you for taking time to comment!
      It is really advice to myself 🙂
      5 months and still finding ways to attract more readers.
      The best way is going to “Freshly Pressed” often and commenting on others blogs.
      Congrats on your blog!
      I look forward to your posts !:)

  3. These are so appropriate and applicable to everyone! It’s good to be reminded of reader/writer courtesies, especially newbies like me 🙂

  4. Pudgie Pies says:

    I am new to blogging also. I feel I can write a really good story or book. But I seem to be having a heck of a time thinking of interesting things to write about. I thought about writing about my life. But is my life really that interesting? I guess I will give it a try. By the way…my mom reads my blog and she calls me on EVERY grammer error!

    • yomicfit says:

      Go for it!
      I find my most vulnerable moments make the best writing subjects.
      To you,
      It may be boring but to us it may be a good break from our life.
      I also find a picture first that inspires me.
      Congrats on your blog.
      I look forward to reading more!

  5. ctminnesota says:

    Nicely said – and yes, I only “like” posts that I have read:)

    Comments are so much more satisfying than likes. But in absence of having time to write a thoughtful response, please consider my like as an official “great post today!” I read a lot of blogs and oftentimes run out of time for comments. I try to respond when something really resonates with me or when I feel I can be encouraging.

    So, keep on blogging! We are here and reading. I, too, will review my own blogging etiquette and try to be a better blogger and reader.

  6. my2ndheartbeat says:

    Now a follower ….. You write, I will read, and I will comment when time permits ….. I’m love other’s works!!

  7. Sandy Green says:

    So true…thanks for reminding us!

Leave a Reply

