Fun Fit 5K Plus

Having fun, getting fit, loving life

I Can Love

on December 17, 2012

20121216-220339.jpg

What can I do?

That small gesture,
You know – the smile, laugh, opened door,
actually speaking to that stranger in line…
Is it enough?

That small movement
That really didn’t stretch me to the point of exhaustion,
How hard was it?

I reached out.

Someone.
Maybe not just one,
Needed it today.

Maybe they couldn’t call a friend,
Maybe the family doesn’t understand,
Maybe they feel alone,
Maybe today is the day they feel hopeless enough to disconnect from society.

Can we afford to let that happen?

How can we be so absorbed in our own possible discomfort
That we neglect someone in need?

To love our neighbor,
Doesn’t mean
Only those we know.

Have I done all I can?

Have I gotten uncomfortable for loves sake?

What part have I played in the destruction of another’s day
Or the reconstruction of their day?

Each of us do make our own decisions,
But have you ever been
jolted
Out of your mood by a stranger?

Saying something funny to you
or
Really looking into your eyes as if they knew you?
They gave just a little,
Maybe even bought your coffee when in line…
But wow!
The impact one gesture can make!

As silly as it seems,
As corny,
As idealistic,
As naive,
As unbelievable,
As “whatever”-

I do think one moment can change a day, a thought, a life.

I may never know
If I
Actually
Made a difference.

If I reached out in the right way.

We can’t afford to think,
“I am too
Tired (or fill in the blank)
To deal with strangers.”

That person in line next to me,
The person who just got on the elevator,
The person sitting behind me at Church,
The lady with that beautiful scarf,
The man restocking shelves,
The people in the car next to me…

Don’t we all just want to be heard and seen and really understood…?

What can I do?

If nothing else,
A smile and a prayer.
God bless this person in the way they need it most.

Have I not felt the nudge,
Pushing me to say something?

I did today and it was hard.
My friend.
Who has cancer.
I didn’t know what to say.
But I had felt so strongly to mention “Mr. Bean.”

“How did you know?”
She said.
“I love Mr. Bean!”

If I hadn’t said it.
If I hadn’t pushed through the discomfort.
Would her life have changed ?
No.
But still…did I discover what I need to do with her?
Yes, most certainly.

When I reach out,
Sometimes I may touch just one.
And sometimes it ends up being me.
Always,
I know
If I did it
I am passing along a little
Hope.
A bit of love.

And if not received?
Am I lost of anything?

My tears over innocence.
Those little faces…
Those heroes…

What can I do?

I can love.

Only God knows if that one moment will be enough
To help a lost soul.
And if more than just I
Love ?

Only God knows…

But I know this for certain
I
Can
Love

16 responses to “I Can Love

  1. m3lly78 says:

    beautiful words from a beautiful soul…

  2. willowdot21 says:

    All so very true thank you for sharing

  3. I never doubt that a kind gesture or smile makes a difference or I may be tempted to stop and that wouldn’t feel right at all. Keep passing on that love!

  4. willowdot21 says:

    Such beautiful words and feelings.

  5. patgarcia says:

    Hi,
    This is a beautiful poem with a powerful statement and I love it. Thank you for visiting my blog and I wish you a prosperous and healthy new year.
    Ciao,
    Patricia

  6. Your poem is remarkable. Post such blogs about love more often. It’s encouraging!

  7. Lori Lipsky says:

    Beautiful words and message!! Love the ending.

Leave a Reply

