Fun Fit 5K Plus

Having fun, getting fit, loving life

It’s A Thanks Thing

on January 15, 2013

I am slacking on my Thanks Journal….

Thanks and Love are often on my heart and in my mind, just don’t get translated to the page.

IMG_3880

Oh well.

Here we go. Things I am thankful for this week:

17. Good Music

I mean really, have you ever cleaned without good music?

It’s like slow motion, but just the right song and I become Gene Kelly in “Singing In The Rain”

with a broom instead of an umbrella of course.

The right song at just the right moment and you are living that movie where you think

“Oh that song! It just fits beautifully!”

Driving on a bright spring day,

nothing but time ahead of you and you pop on “Big Yellow Taxi” by Counting Crows.

Reading in your favorite chair, cozied in with your blanket and cup of coffee.

The book is a slow but enjoyable read. You put on Mumford and Sons, “Sigh No More” as the perfect back drop to the story at hand.

You want to cook a great meal for your special someone,

what inspires you more than a romantic song?

Maybe a little Sade?

A million times a day I am thinking music just enhances the silly or sweet or angry or scary or whatever point in time it is.

18. Great Food!

IMG_4030

I have been saturated with delicious eats this past weekend.

And I don’t mean all unhealthy!

Though o.k. my favorites of the weekend were the sweet treats from our Godson’s first birthday party.

My brother is a great cook and likes to make dishes that have my husband wondering if I was adopted.

(Just kidding. I think he really does like my cooking.)

It could be the engineer in him, but he will spend hours on a meal because that’s what it takes to make fantastic pulled pork.

We had cheeseburger, pulled pork, and pulled chicken sliders along with homemade fries (regular and sweet potato).

The sweet treats were cookies, candies of an assortment and of course cake and ice cream.

IMG_4044

Then there was the great Mocha from “Le Peep.”

IMG_4077

We love eating at this fantastic breakfast hot spot in Overland Park.

I had a really nice omelette of spinach, bacon, and cheddar/jack cheese.

Yum.

19. Our Godson!

Evan just turned one and I can’t believe it!

IMG_4073

His giggles are infectious as he loves to laugh at about anything.

But the best are his cuddles. He loves to hug and squeeze you.

He will put his head on your shoulder and you just melt!

He has to work on his kisses which are open mouthed at this point 🙂 but my gosh…

What a blessing!

(As every single one of our nephews and nieces are to us.)

20. Matthew Kelly’s Message (“Becoming The Best Version of You”)

Brian and I listened to his c.d. which was given out at Church and I must say that I am impressed.

I will give you the basics of what I found true and powerful, but you should check out his website:

matthewkelly.com

What I took away that I must do to become the best version of me is this:

-exercise at least once a week, every week

-read 10 minutes every day from a book that will help me become the best version of me

-take a journal to church and ask God to show me 1 thing to work on for the week

(Just one.)

He was powerful in his stories and examples.

I really encourage you to check him out.

21. Safe Travels

We were fortunate enough to miss the snow and ice that hit home while we were away.

Normally Kansas gets it worse than we do, but not this time.

We were able to safely get from here to there and vice versa.

We must never take that for granted.

22. My Husband Spending So Much Time With My Family

Brian has spent the majority of his time lately with my family.

It’s been party after party.

Our house or elsewhere, and all the while he is there

I don’t hear complaints or see him sulking.

He is interacting and in the midst of the action.

I know this isn’t always easy but it sure makes me feel good to have someone love you enough to give up their weekends and home because your family is his too.

It warms my heart to think “wow. He wants everyone to feel comfortable and is making more than just an effort.”

Thanks, babe.

I love you.

Anyway, I hope to keep on with my thanks and love journal this week.

Have you started one? What are you thankful for?

7 responses to “It’s A Thanks Thing

  1. Hello,
    I’ve nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award.
    Check it out http://thejennymacbookblog.wordpress.com/

  2. vision5d2012 says:

    Thanks for the Thanks Journal. What a great idea! I love how you take the “ordinary” (nothing is really ordinary, is it?) and let us all share how it is playing out in YOUR life. That’s really beautiful. I’m grateful for my spiritually-aligned husband who understands me much better than i will ever understand myself and accepts me with all my quirks and shortcomings. We have begun a habit of taking two walks a day now: one in the late morning and the other right about sunset. We live on the Oregon Coast only an 8 minute walk from the beach. I am appreciating our gorgeous clear weather after about three months of non-stop rain. Blessings, Alia

    • yomicfit says:

      Thanks Alia! It came from a great book called “One Thousand Gifts” by Ann Voskamp. Fantastic book. Highly recommend. I would love to visit Oregon. I look forward to reading your posts and getting to know you through our blogs! It’s wonderful how when you look for “thanks” it all lays before you.

      Sincerely, Michelle

      • vision5d2012 says:

        Appreciation gets you MORE. Actually, the meaning of the word “appreciate” means to gain or increase in value. So the more we appreciate, the more value we see around us and the more we attract that which we can feel grateful for. The Law of Attraction plays a role here to but from what I’ve understood, gratitude and appreciation are VERY high states of consciousness. Good for you for showing the way in a simple and easy manner, Alia

      • yomicfit says:

        That is great insight! Thanks for sharing!

        Sincerely, Michelle

Leave a Reply

