Fun Fit 5K Plus

Having fun, getting fit, loving life

The Choices I Make

on January 28, 2013

20130128-084353.jpg

This is St. Louis’ finest.
Gooey Butter Cake.
Many stores and restaurants offer it,
But Brian and I love this one from
“J. Bucks!”
So delicious.
44. A big thank you to the makers of this melt-in-your-mouth dream of a dessert.

(If in St. Louis, I also would recommend Missouri Bakery for this treat among other very tasty goodies. )

This very gooey delight was shared between Brian and myself on Saturday.

Shared. So I actually don’t think that is as bad as devouring the whole thing.
Do I sound like I am trying to justify?

Yes, that is my guilt talking.

Now, this…

20130128-084948.jpg
Key lime pie martini,
Well I would never share this!

45. I am thankful that I could stop after two of these.
Truly,
I could keep going.
They are that scrumptious!

This beverage has inspired me to make my own and share it with others.
I love the creamy top, followed by a pineapple, key lime taste.
Truly the happiest martini around.

I had 2 of these on Saturday.
All on my own.
I knew I would pay.
I knew those calories would come back and bite me.
And yes they did.

I will never regret a Key Lime Pie Martini!
But…I should have got on the elliptical once home.

Today, the scale said
“Yeah. Those pounds you were down Saturday? Well…they came back.”

Only she wasn’t so kind.

I realize I am kind of beating myself up over these choices but,
In the beginning stages of working out and eating right
Willpower is everything.

One drink would have been plenty.

But…I am just going to move forward.

46. Thank God for fun. “Carry On.”
That song pushed me through the finish line this morning.
I was tired and grumpy.
(Thanks to the scale…ok my choices.)

I burned 235 calories and 40 carbs.
I didn’t want to.
I wanted to give up two minutes in.
But… That stubborn side of me spurred a fire in my spirit.

Rihanna and Beyonce helped out.
Song after song.
“Keep going.”
“Just a little longer.”

My goodness it was trying today.

47. I did it!
I made it.
Willpower at it’s most challenged.

So today.
It’s all about good choices.
Healthy ones.
Not giving in.
Finding that inner health nut.

For me,
That doesn’t mean eating tofu or drinking wheatgrass.
It means eating the right portion of healthier foods I like.

That along with working out will show results.

So, I want to encourage you to keep going.
Today is a new day.
A day for good choices and always a new beginning.

I am made for more than this.

Life expectancy would grow by leaps and bounds if green vegetables smelled as good as bacon. ~Doug Larson

When it comes to eating right and exercising, there is no “I’ll start tomorrow.” Tomorrow is disease. ~Terri Guillemets

4 responses to “The Choices I Make

  1. love this! Truly… inspiring/motivational! Thanks for sharing your journey!

  2. yomicfit says:

    Thank you so much!
    I hope that someone out there can relate to my trials 🙂

  3. thisismelly says:

    one day, Im going to visit the States and eat key lime pie made from real key limes (and not regular limes like they try to make it here in Oz). that martini looked amazing…..
    Love the quote from Terri Guillemets, and your words, as always….

Leave a Reply

