Fun Fit 5K Plus

Having fun, getting fit, loving life

Food, Food and More Food

on April 7, 2013

20130407-101522.jpg

This weekend we rushed off to Overland Park, Kansas with Brian’s family.

I love Overland Park,
As we visit often because my brother lives near there.
We have learned over time
That there are some
(well…quite a few )
excellent places to enjoy a good meal.

But the weekend started with a trip to the hotel bar where our bartenders
Made my favorite martini for me.
It’s not something they currently have on the menu,
But they were more than happy to make sure I was satisfied.

Next stop our favorite Italian restaurant,
Jasper’s!
Love love love the food!
Check it out :
Jaspers

Here is a brief journey of our evening.
It starts with a table service,
Where they make
(Make – right at the table!)
fresh mozzarella and serve it with fragrant basil that seems to wash over the table and tomatoes that are picture perfect.

20130407-132036.jpg

20130407-132135.jpg

20130407-132256.jpg

20130407-132404.jpg

We then progressed into the main entree which was fabulous!

I had OSSO BUCO ALLA VECCHI A GASPARI
Veal Shank braised in Barolo wine on a bed of pasta.

A veal that slid off the bone and and melted in my mouth.
The au ju was simply delectable.
Carrots and potato and pasta rounded the dish out.

This was the best meal I have been privileged to in a while.

20130407-132748.jpg

Brian had

TORTELLINI ALLA ROMANO
Pasta rings filled with cheese in a sauce of Prosciutto di Parma, cream, peas and Romano
cheese.

20130407-133110.jpg

Then out came the dessert cart:

20130407-133243.jpg

You do not deprive yourself at Jasper’s.
Dessert is a must!

20130407-133438.jpg

CIOCCOLATTA DI TARTUFFO
Homemade white chocolate gelato dusted with chocolate biscotti and chocolate sauce

Simply heavenly.
What more could I say?!

20130407-133646.jpg

Tiramisu. Yum.
One of my faves.

And then something I will always order,
Coconut cake.
I can not adequately describe how luscious this is.
Moist yet light.
The best coconut cake ever!

The next day,
Although still full,
We had breakfast at another must,
“Le Peep.”

No pictures,
But I love their spinach, bacon and cheddar jack omelette.

le peep menu

After hours of exploring the Towne Center shopping center,
Off to lunch at Oklahoma Joes.

Great BBQ.
I had pulled pork that was fantastic!

20130407-134609.jpg

20130407-134712.jpg

Dinner was at a Dinner Theater called
New Theater.

Once again,
We were not disappointed.

20130407-134913.jpg

And we couldn’t leave without a coffee from Dean & Delucca’s.

I loved an ice tiramisu coffee. O

So, this week will be about working off the few pounds gained over the weekend.
Would I do it again?
Absolutely!
You only live once.

The only thing that made it better for me,
was watching the family savor each bite as much as I did.

Buon apetito!

7 responses to “Food, Food and More Food

  1. thisismelly says:

    What an awesome weekend with the in-laws!!! xx

  2. Rahburt says:

    The Jaspers food looked amazing.

  3. So much for my banana, now I’m hungry for real food. Yummy sharing.

    • yomicfit says:

      Yes! I know.
      I have been trying to get healthy but there is so much beautiful and quite delicious food out there!
      Oh well…
      Thanks for reading 🙂
      Michelle

Leave a Reply

